Blog Tour Stop: DIVIDE by Jessa Russo

Divide BannerYoung Adult / Available today on paperback & e-reader, see below for details!


From senior class president to dejected social outcast, with just the flick of a match.

After accusations of torching her ex-boyfriend’s home are followed by the mysterious poisoning of her ex-best friend, seventeen-year-old Holland Briggs assumes her life is over. And it is. But not in the way she thinks.

As Holland learns the truth about her cursed fate—that she is descended from the Beast most have only ever heard of in fairytales—she unites with an unlikely ally, good-looking newcomer Mick Stevenson.

Mick knows more about Holland’s twisted history than she does, and enlightening as it is to learn about, his suggestion for a cure is unsettling at best. Holland must fall in love with Mick in order to break the spell, and save their future generations from repeating her cursed fate. Having sworn off love after the betrayals of her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, this may be difficult to accomplish.

Complicating things further for Holland and Mick, time runs out, and Holland’s change begins way before schedule. With Holland quickly morphing into a dangerous mythical creature, Mick struggles to save her.

Should they fail, Holland will be lost to the beast inside her forever.


As a fan of her’s, I’m thrilled to get to take part in this blog tour. Meet Jessa Russo and her latest book, DIVIDE!

What was your life like before you became an author?
I was much less busy, that’s for sure! Before I became an author, I was a stay-at-home mom, and I had a small business for a few years there, of painting children’s room decor. SO I was busy, and scatterbrained then, but nothing like I am now. But that’s not just because of the writing aspect of being an author–it has to do with the things that followed since becoming an author or because of becoming an author. Things like social media (constantly networking and trying to have a consistency in my online presence), editing (which I do for Curiosity Quills and had tried to start up on the side, but have since realized I don’t have the time), hosting contests (PitchMAS is coming up again in July–yay!) and the many other things that take me away from the writing side of being an author. But I wouldn’t trade these things, because I’m constantly building my relationships, and everything I’ve achieved so far can be attributed to that interaction within the writing community.

Which comes first – the character or the story?
Both. Sometimes one, sometimes the other. For EVER, it was the character: a girl who lived with a house full of ghosts. With DIVIDE, my concept came first: a Beauty and the Beast redux where the beauty was also the beast. For ARK OF DREAMS (currently in revisions), it was again, the premise: a Noah’s Ark redux. For SUICIDE TREES (also in revisions), the story/premise again came first. And for CHLORINE&CHAOS, coming this summer from my pen name, Parker Jameson, the characters took hold of me, then I wrote their story.

How “close to the chest” do you hold your work?
Very  dear to me. I think I learned the hard way that I need to let go of my babies once they’re out in the world because EVER’s reviews crushed me so successfully. When people hated Ever, I felt they hated me. I think I’ve grown and learned from that experience though.

What’s the worst advice you’ve ever received throughout your writing experience?
Stop writing. Frankly, don’t ever say this to a writer. Even if they suck, this is their passion, their need. This is like breathing. I can’t not write.

And the best?
Um, I don’t know…I disagree with the whole “write what you know” thing, as I feel that can be taken too literally and box someone in. And I disagree with writing for the market. Because, let’s be honest, she is FICKLE and constantly changing. So I think the best advice I’d pass along is just to write for you. Write what makes you happy and write it well.

In closing, please summarize your writing experience with this book into one sentence.
DIVIDE was a fun, fast paced journey, and a story that flowed from me–surprisingly well–from beginning to end.


Available today on Kindle, paperback, & Kobo! (Note: The e-book edition is on sale TODAY for just $2.99, and it’s the Kobo daily deal!)

Say your words!

