Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: G

GERRY KENNEDY

Or G is for Gerard or whatever gives me an excuse to post this mug...

Or G is for Gerard or whatever gives me an excuse to post this mug…

I’m not even sure if I can do this one justice.

Series/Book/Movie: P.S. I Love You

Who He Loved: Holly Kennedy

First off, I know that the movie left a lot to be desired. I’m basing my love of Gerry off of the book, and using this as a fine excuse to put Gerard Butler on my blog. Because, well, it’s just a nice thing to do sometimes.

Gerry was a wild card, impetuous and impulsive. He was also utterly devoted, endlessly thoughtful, and head-over-heels in love with his wife, Holly. They had been together since junior high. No one could imagine that the two of them would ever part. In as much as he was the perfect companion for the woman that he loved, his Prince Charming moment started where he ended.

I think we all consider what life would be like without our loved ones. It’s natural. And it’s normally a place we don’t like to dwell. Gerry challenged himself to think not of himself, but of Holly, and the kind of struggle his departure would cause. He knew that she’d be lost without him. They completed each other, after all. But they were young and her life needed to go on without him. He knew the best thing he could do for her after his cancer diagnosis was to create her path to recovery.

And create her path, he did. Ten notes. Ten months. Ten reminders that true love knows what’s best for you, even if it means helping you move on long after it’s gone.

xo – Meli

7 thoughts on “Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: G

  1. I haven’t read the book, saw the movie and am glad I stopped by. Surprise eye-candy! The only thing better than Gerard Butler is GB using his own accent!

Say your words!

