Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: F

JAMIE FRASER

Jamie Fraser via Starz

Jamie Fraser via Starz

I have to give a shout out to my girl, Candi Bunch, for researching this fine fellow for me! I hadn’t even heard of this series before she suggested Jamie as a Prince Charming. Now I can’t wait to start reading. :)

Series/Book/Movie: The Outlander series

Who He Loved: Wife, Claire.

Jamie is a gorgeous 6’4″ of long, lean muscles. Scars, which serve as proof of his physical torment (and, in some way, strength), mar his otherwise perfect body. His dark blue eyes are steely and slanted, framed by gorgeous hair that is easier compared to that of a red deer’s pelt than described. He’s more Asgardian god than simple Scotsman, the result of the very best qualities passed down by his noble blood.

“I will protect you. From him, or anyone else. To the last drop of my blood, mo duinne.”

So, what makes him the perfect Prince Charming? First of all, he’s a true gentleman. He is the strong sort, but that doesn’t stop him from being an almost completely selfless cuddly bear. He loves Claire with all of his heart and soul, treating her like a treasure. He also fights for what he believes in and protects those who cannot protect themselves. In other words, he’s chivalry personified.

Jamie is a natural-born leader, too. He’s willing to sacrifice everything for the good of his family and tenants, and not just because he’s the Laird of Lollybroch. He was just raised that way. Everyone is treated well by him, be it women, children, or creature. He is loyal and kind, and will fight for what is right. He is willing to even go so far as to lay down his own life for those he cares about. However, he is also a very violent man and has taken lives. He’s a warrior, though, but that’s kind of in the job description.

This list doesn’t have many warriors. We expect either lover or fighters, not men who can be both. I’m happy to throw Jamie Fraser into the mix. He’s a fine example of doing it right.

xo – Meli

6 thoughts on “Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: F

  1. People go nuts over that series. The first book published back in the mid-90s and yet I consistently hear people discovering the books. There is a TV series being produced as we speak for the Starz network.

    I have mixed feelings over Outlander because of some of the behaviour between Jamie and Claire in the first book. And some nitpicky stuff with how the story progresses, but I’m more sensitive to certain themes of alpha males dominating over women than others. This is definitely the type of series if you like men rescuing women and don’t mind a side of violence. The world crafted by the author is a rich one and I really liked Claire’s character overall.

    Stopping by from the A to Z Challenge! Here’s my A to Z blog post

    • I know. I have heard SO many good things about this series but like I said in the post, I haven’t read them personally. I’m a fan of more contemporary work, and I’m certainly an even bigger fan of fiction where the woman is strong. However, both of our opinions aside, it sounds like this guy definitely meets the criteria based on the information presented to me!

      Thanks for stopping by. :)

  2. Ohhhhhh Jamie. He was literally the only thing that kept me going through Outlander. He was the only character I could stand, mostly because he was so selfless, loving, compassionate, and loyal – everyone else, I felt, was a little *too* flawed. As in, I struggled to like them :( As far as Prince Charmings go, he is the perfect example, and I’m hoping the movie will redeem the book a little for me! :)

Say your words!

