Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: A

PRINCE ALISTAIR THEIRIN

by aveiciea.deviantart.com

by aveiciea.deviantart.com

It almost feels like cheating. Alistair is, perhaps, one of the most well-rounded and balanced romantic interests in video game history. I’m sure he’s the reason behind many a nerd girl’s forever lonely status. He’s set a bar that no actual man would probably even want to attempt. It just doesn’t get better than him.

Tall, blonde, and handsome, Alistair has chantry charm and an easy-going attitude…for the most part. It doesn’t take long to discover that under all of his charisma hides a man from a life filled with pain.He’s the first long-term character that your Warden will meet.

Series/Book/Movie – video game, Dragon Age: Origins

Love Interest: Your Female Warden (bonus points if she’s nobility, oh-swoon-sigh).

So here’s the thing. Alistair could easily be brushed off as some innocent kid who got plucked up from the chantry (think: church) and sent off to kill big bad guys. He seems to have had less life experiences than the average preteen and might have maybe a hand full of common sense. His jokes are sometimes…well, what I call “endearing” could also be called “corny,” but it’s in the eye of the beholder, right? His heart is pure as gold. In the end, that’s what truly matters.

And then you discover that he’s this castaway orphan child who was sent to live in the chantry because no one wanted anyone to get the wrong impression about him and, in return, think ill of his adopted father. It gave him a complex, you see. Trust issues and the like. And then he was taken by this other fellow who brought him in to this “family” (a.k.a. the Grey Wardens) and Alistair was finally able to really experience life.That is, until they were all brutally murdered when betrayed by an ego-maniacal sycophant.

He blames himself for that, by the way.

What makes him the perfect Prince Charming, though? Alistair is able to push past all of his issues and worries to find beauty in his companion. His entire romantic ambition is summed up in one scene, when he gives the Warden a rose that he found in a town that was destroyed: “…I remember thinking, how can something so beautiful exist in a place with so much despair and ugliness?…In a lot of ways, I think the same when I look at you.” He never betrays her, nor does he put her in risk. Alistair is the cheeky protector of the Warden’s heart…

…as long as you don’t screw up the game’s ending.

xo – Meli

23 thoughts on “Case Studies in the Art of Prince Charming: A

  1. ALISTAIR! / I keep hearing so many awesome things about him! My roommate really likes him too. My only Dragn Age experience was getting drunk one night and letting hr play through while I made the decisions for all the options xD

    Very cool A-Z concept!

    • Thank you so much! Alistair really is a gem. I’m a HUGE BioWare fangirl and they still haven’t come close to topping him in my heart. My second favorite video game Prince Charming will be making an appearance towards the bottom of this list. ;)

      Hope you swing back by for more and enjoy! Happy A2Z day!

  2. I love the Dragon Age games. I think the voice actor is the major reason Allistair is awesome. He’s so good. I love it when an actor can transform a video game into a vibrant story. Can’t wait for the next Dragon Age.

    • You are so right. Steve Valentine is divine. I told my husband that if they don’t find some way to sneak Alistair back into the series (my exact words: “THAT APOSTATE HAS HIS DRAGONBABY. SURELY HE HAS TO COME BACK.”), I’m going to burn the xbox.

      Perhaps that was a little overly passionate.

  3. Ooh I’m yet to play Dragon Age but reading about Alistair makes me want to run out to the store right now haha :-) I love Prince Charming types, especially those with flaws and issues to overcome. He sounds perfect!

  4. I do not play video games, but I understand being attracted to a positive a strong guy like Alstair. We need more inspirational characters like that in general. Visiting you via the A to Z Challenge.

  5. I have a suggestion for your theme: Miles Vorkosigan. He’s quite a charmer, practically a prince, and is the main protagonist in a series of dozens of books (so far), known as the Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold. If you’ve never met Miles before, I suggest starting with The Warrior’s Apprentice, where a teen-aged Miles manages to improvise his way out of the frying pan, into a larger frying pan, then out of that one into another … basically, it’s frying pans all the way down! Miles is one of my very favorite characters, though, and I think you would fall in love with him, like I did. :-D

  6. Okay, I’m a guy and even I find Alistair the most interest romance bioware has done. (Sorry Tali)

    I may or may not have questioned my sexuality a few times…just a few XD

    • I asked my husband if he felt the same as you. He got this real serious look on his face and kind of glared, so I’m guessing not.

      Alistair’s romance really is the best developed one they’ve done to date. Hopefully DA:I will at least throw out some competition for him. I seriously doubt it, though.

Say your words!

